Tags

, , ,

Burnley & Trowbridge's sheer purple muslin.

Burnley & Trowbridge’s sheer purple muslin.

A few days ago, I was feeling frustrated and anxious about the fabric I ordered that didn’t turn out to be all I had expected. It was significantly less than I’d expected. So I ordered a replacement fabric from Burnley & Trowbridge, and it has arrived, and I’m THRILLED, I tell you. THRILLED!

The sheer purple muslin has a lovely polished finish on the right side, but after washing the sheen has been knocked down quite a bit. That's ok! The color in this image is skewed a bit more pink than the true lavender it really is.

The sheer purple muslin has a lovely polished finish on the right side, but after washing the sheen has been knocked down quite a bit. That’s ok! The color in this image is skewed a bit more pink than the true lavender it really is.

The B&T sheer purple muslin is everything I had hoped the first fabric purchase would be, but is even better. Sheer–check. Light–check. Airy but still slightly stiff–check. Gorgeous shade of purple/lavender–check. And it has a wonderful sheen and smooth, satiny feel on the fabric’s right side, as well. I think that will be dulled when I wash the fabric, but that’s ok.

Just look how wonderfully sheer the fabric is. I wish I could capture the characteristics of the weave in this photo, but my camera can't manage it. You can see it somewhat in the B&T product image at the top of this post. It's quite interesting.

Just look how wonderfully sheer the fabric is.

I’m feeling much more confident in going ahead with my new Regency ballgown now. I’ve already cut out the silk charmeuse undergown and started sewing the bodice together.

I also took the opportunity to order some of B&T’s silk gauze. It’s slightly different than what I expected, but it’s still wonderful stuff. It has a very tight weave similar to silk organza, but it’s much finer, so it’s even more sheer than organza; it also has a bit of that organza stiffness, which I think will loosen when washed. But this will be perfect for a reproduction of a movie ballgown I’ve had planned for a while; I just hadn’t previously been able to find the right fabric for the under-bodice and the skirt overlay. If you’re curious, it will be a repro of Henrietta Musgrove’s evening dress/ballgown from 1995’s Persuasion (the one with Victoria Hamilton as Henrietta; also: Ciaran Hinds as Captain Wentworth–swoon!). It’s such a unique design and so very Regency that I can’t resist. Anyway, that’s further down the line.

