Tags

, , , , , ,

All right, used to be, I thought I wasn’t a chemisette girl. I made one several years ago on a whim, from polyester organza, draped on my dress form. It had a simple turned-back collar trimmed with pretty lace and tied around the waist. I tried wearing it with my first-completed Regency gown, and for one reason or another, I thought it looked horrible. Probably a combination of my short neck, broad shoulders, and the first gown’s very square neckline conspired against the chemisette, and I never wore it again. I’ve kept it, though, so maybe I’ll try it again someday now that I am–deep breath–a chemisette convert!

I mean, I probably won’t wear them with EVERY day gown. Especially not here in Virginia in our steamy summers. But now and then, and particularly in the winter, a chemisette, I now profess, is a really nice addition to an outfit. I’ve always liked how they look on other people, although I thought sometimes they were too frilly and froofy.

About 2 months ago, I was getting ready to attend a tea in a historic house in Regency dress, and I got a wild hair up you-know-where and just started cutting some of my stashed cotton voile into the general shape of a few chemisettes. The first one didn’t get much further than hemming the edges, but the second one, in a more historically accurate design, went all the way.

20171121_221301

I started playing around with collar band and pleated ruff ideas and ended up creating a dramatic, frilly, somewhat renaissance-inspired ruffed chemisette.

20171129_220527

20171202_131236

I added lace trim to the pleated ruff (my favorite, much-prized lace from a local variety store that several years ago abandoned selling any fabric and trim–they had the BEST lace!) and trimmed the chemisette’s outer edges with insertion lace to help it stay tucked into my gown neckline.

20171203_130722

Getting dressed on the day of the tea. The ruff stands up so well, the result of a LOT of starch and of sewing the collar band edge-to-edge with the chemisette neckline with a strong whipstitch. It just makes a firmer seam.

The chemisette is completely hand sewn. I wanted to wear it with my old faithful blue dress (I’ll blog about it soon), but the poor thing has faded in streaks and I think I have to overdye it before I wear it again. So I ended up wearing my lavender mull Munchmuseum gown, which I made as a ballgown, but it just isn’t fancy enough. It makes a wonderful day gown, though! Especially with a frilly chemisette!

20171203_131900

More getting dressed on the day. This gown works so much better for daytime, especially with a frilly chemisette. I’m in love with this outfit! And to make room for that high ruff, I had to put my hair up high. I opted for a French twist with the curled ends left loose.

It went great with my stand-collar spencer, too! The ruff stood up very well under several hours of wear, although it did eventually droop.

20171203_132631

Ugh I ADORE this lace trim! I wish I had bought more of it when it was available.

Just a bit droopy after a few hours, but it still looks pretty good.

IMG_8862-adjusted

I’m storing the chemisette on a skirt hanger, so the ruff doesn’t get crushed. Not sure how I’m going to wash and re-press this thing eventually, but probably it will be by hand, very gently, and laid flat to dry.

20171202_132358

Here are some more photos of the chemisette and gown together.

IMG_8802

IMG_8809

You can just see my American Duchess Hartfield boots. They are incredibly comfortable!

IMG_8817

IMG_8828

I wore my chocolate-brown velvet spencer with the gown and chemisette, along with my Lady Russell model Shocking Bad Hat! 

 

One more gratuitous shot, because I love this outfit!

IMG_8841

I’ve never been so well and completely accessorized! Chemisettes for the win!